Friday, December 14, 2018

Remembering Joseph April

Joseph April's name is on the Doughboy statue in the Acre. This is his story.

Joseph was born April 7, 1897 at St. Clement, Quebec, the son of Isidore and Elise (Boucher). He entered the service June 26, 1918 in the U.S. Army 153d D.B. and transferred July 15, 1918 to Co. H 348 Infantry, 87th Division. He was sent overseas August 26, 1918.

He died of pneumonia October 24, 1918 at Bordeaux, France. His body was returned to the U.S. and he is buried at St. Joseph's Cemetery in East Chelmsford. He was survived by his parents, bother John B. of the Canadian Expeditionary Forces, Isidore, Marie, Laura and Rose Anne.


Friday, November 30, 2018

Remembering Armand V. Alix

Armand V. Alix's name is on the Doughboy statue in the Acre. This is his story:

Armand was born in July 1898 to Mr. and Mrs. Louis (Lottie) Alix in Lowell. He enlisted in Battery F, 102nd Field Artillery of the American Expeditionary Forces at the age of 19. He sailed for France on the SS Finland September 18, 1917.

He was severely wounded in the trenches at Chateau Thierry on July 27, 1918. He left France classified as "Surgical walking requiring no dressing Base Hospital No. 6" on November 26, 1918 and arrived in New Jersey December 11, 1918. He returned to Lowell where he lived with his mother and sister. He was unable to work. He died as the result of his war injuries on November 8, 1921 at the age of 23.

During the last year of his life he did marry Florence Sabourin. She never remarried and lived to the age of 99. They are buried together at St. Patrick's Cemetery in Lowell. A square in his memory is at the intersection of Salem and Adams Street.


Sunday, November 11, 2018

Centenial of Armistice Day - Never Forget

Today marks the 100 year anniversary of the armistice that ended World War 1. Today we remember the 221 heroes from Greater Lowell who died so that we can live the lives we do today. Never forget their sacrifice.

Constantinos Aggelakos
Armand V Alix
Stanley Thomas Anthony
Joseph April
Wilfred Taylor Axon
Arthur J Ayotte
Dexter E Bailey
Aubrey M Bearisto
Frederick Beaumont
Joseph G Belanger
Arthur  Bikiary
Wilfred Binette
Joseph Blanchard
Bernard L Boisvert
Albert J Boisvert
Laurent L Bolduc
Alexander H Borland
Peter R Bradley
George W Brick
Frederick Brierly
William Brookes
William F Brown
Brant Atwood Browne
Walter A Bruce
Charles K Buk
Paul L Burden
Harry N Burke
William J Burke
Gavin A Caldwell
Frederick H Casey
Oliver M Chadwick
Philip Chalifoux
Mederic Champagne
Raymond E Chappell
Philip Chaput
John Ciesla
William H Clouatre
Harmon Clough
Henry Cognac
William E Coleman
Guthrie Colpitts
John L Connolly
Michael Connolly
Frederick Nicholas Connolly
Leo Constantineau
Richard Corbett
Charles Auguste Cornellier
James F Costello
Napoleon Cote
John P Cranna
Charles  Cunnert
Lorne L Cupples
Armand P Daigle
James H Dankert
Narcisse Desrosiers
Mahlon Dennett
Omer Deziel
Edward J Donovan
Philip Doyon
William Dube
Joseph B Dugan
Rodolphe Duhaime
John L Durkin
John Dzadolonis
Eldon Elon Elston
Harold W Estey
Valentine E Ferris
Robert L Fisk
Edward J Flannery
Carl E Fletcher
Edward C Fulton
William Gallagher
George Garner
George Gayules
George Gearin
Henry Joseph Germain
Efstiatios Georgulis
Fred Gifford
Edward T Gillis
Arthur J Girard
George Gravelle
Anthony Grey
Thomas Hamblet
James Hamelakis
R Hanolet
Joseph Franklin Harding
Bernard Harrington
Harold F Harrison
Frank Harrison
Joseph Hebert
Leo Henry McDonald
Oscar A Hix
Ernest H Hoyle
Roy L Humpreys
Ralph G Hurd
Edward J Johnstone
Thomas F Jones
Adelard Julian
Paul T Kearney
Frank H Kelley
Duncan Kelly
Solon W Kirkeby
Paul E Kittredge
Eugene A LaJeunesse
Bertrand Lamarre
Ralph H Lashua
Leo J Lavoie
Joseph LeNormand
Edwin T Little
Charles J Longtin
Frank Lyons
John Adams Lyons
Alex MacLean
Elias Maheros
Thomas F Mann
Thomas Michael Manning
George S Mansour
Walter Marr
Manuel  Martin
John Joseph Mayer
James W McCleary
James McClennan
Howard McCoy
James Charles McDermott
Leo H McDonald
Thomas McDonough
William H McGrath
William J McKenna
Lee Arthur Mckenzie
John C McMahon
Edmund McNamara
Arthur R McOsker
Francis M McOsker
Frank McPherson
Joseph 0 Mercier
Ray Messer
Anthansios Michaolopoulos
Harry J Miller
John J Mills
Paul D Mills
Lawrence Moczyrog
Joseph P Mollahan
William J Molloy
John William Montgomery
Alfred Moran
William Mugan
Stephen A Murray
Timothy Nagle
John Onesiphore Napoleon
Herbert J Nealey
Edward A Nelson
James W Nickerson
Edward E Nickles
John J O'Brien
John J O'Donnell
Francis R Owens
Pierre Paignon
Albert Palm
Joseph N Paquin
Manuel W Perry
Frederick D Pickering
Minard Pickett
Ralph Quessy
Edward F Quinn
Thomas J Quirk
William H Regnier
Alfred J Renaud
Leo Ricard
Edward Riendeau
James Douglas Rivet
Muriom Rodzin
George FH Rogers
Thomas F Roarke
Edward Rowe
Charles J Roy
John H Ryan
Alfred Salvas
Segur Severson
Rusby Porter Shafer
Harley Arnold Shonyon
Samuel J Shuman
Bruno Silk
Gerald RT Silk
Peter Silva
Jacob Simonian
Hollis C Simpson
Ernest Smith
Joseph Charles Stanley
Albert  Stefanik
George F Stewart
Dan A Sullivan
Jeremiah F Sullivan
William G Swift
Edgar W Sykes
Eugene A Tansey
Egbert F Tetley
Ralph Tewksbury
Christos Theodorou
Joseph Marius Thibedeau
Albert Thomson
William Toner
John J Trainor
Daniel F Tully
Ray C Turner
Frank Urbanek
Leon Thomas Vaillancourt
Joseph A Veillette
Alberton Vinal
Charles Wallace
John M Warren
John Martin Warren
Charles A Webster
William A Welch
Aaron Davis Weld
George W Wells
William J Wilber
Alexander  Wilson
Brooks Woodworth
Joseph Worthy
Winthrop Wright
John Zarnowski

We remember.